Free and Low Cost Oregon Legal Research

Produced by the non-profit Free Law Project, Court Listener provides free sophisticated search access to federal and state case law. CourtListener provides extensive coverage of federal courts but incomplete coverage of older state case law.

Fastcase includes federal and state primary law from all states in the Federal Ninth Circuit which includes cases, statutes, regulations, and court rules

Google Scholar has a database of state and federal case law. Select the "case law" option below the search box to locate opinions by keyword or citation. The database contains Oregon case law from 1950 forward.

Harvard’s Caselaw Access Project (CAP), maintained by the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab. This site includes official, book-published United States case law. CAP does not include new cases as they are published. They currently include volumes published through June, 2018, and "may or may not include additional volumes in the future."

In-depth analysis and swift updates of current U.S. Supreme Court cases. This is an excellent stop to track an ongoing case or the current goings-on at the court.

PACER is the official online portal for public access to recent Federal Court documents.

The RECAP Archive is a free searchable database of PACER documents.

The National Archives is often the only source for older federal case documents. If you cannot access the documents using PACER you should request the documents from the appropriate National Archives location.

The State of Oregon Law Library digital collections includes Oregon appellate court briefs, opinions, and a variety of government publications.